why do you talk like a cowgirl?

 

on our first morning in the school (yes it is still dark outside!!!)

this has been my first week in the elementary school. oh. my. goodness. i have no doubts that i want to be a teacher {and i have no doubts that it is an exhausting job!} I have loved every second of being in a classroom all day.

I am in a first grade classroom at an elementary school in the Jordan school district with Becca. It has been a blast so far. We leave every morning at 7:00 and get to the schools about 7:50. It is definitely a long drive…especially in the SNOW that we had yesterday morning! I was in denial that it was snowing and still am in denial that winter is fastly approaching! I love fall and wish it would last just a few weeks longer! But it is a fun drive because we are with 2 other girls, Shelley and Amber who are also in our school but in second grade!

On the first day i was there, i fell in love with this little gorgeous chinese girl who has the longest, prettiest hair. she is so smart. i helped her in centers and talked to her for a little while and when it was time to go to recess, she took my hand, wouldn’t let go, and held it for at least 5 minutes all the way out to recess. she is so darn cute. all of them are.

I always thought i would favor (is that bad?) girls in my classroom, but we have some of the cutest boys. i think growing up with a lot of boys in my house has left a special place in my heart for them. they are so sweet and considerate. (considerdat, right tracccyy??) On the playground a little girl lost her glove and a boy from my class came up to the teacher with his arm around the girl, rubbing her arm, trying to help her not be upset. so cute.

Remember that show kids say the darndest things? well they really do. yesterday i was reading to the students out of a chapter book and when i got done, this little girl came up to me and said “why do you talk like a cowgirl?” it was hilarious. i had to explain to her that i was from the great state of alabama, not utah!

now that i am in the school, i am no longer Abby. I am Miss Bess. Can I just tell you that this is very hard adjustment!!! Miss (Mrs.) Bess is my mom! Not me! Haha it is funny because I have to call Rebecca, Miss Johnson in the classroom and I slip up way too much and just say Becca…maybe I should just call her Miss Johnson around our apartment? :) Supposedly Becca was trying to get my attention on the first day we were there and she kept calling “Miss Bess! Miss Bess!” and I did not respond! It’s going to take a while to get used to!

i love being in the schools so much. I am so busy because i go to school in Jordan (almost to Salt Lake) everyday and then come back for class at BYU at night. It makes for one long day, but let me tell you you do not have to rock this girl to sleep at night! I’m loving it!

this picture is in the school…i’ve always been a big fan of norman rockwell.

i wish so bad i could take pictures of my class and let you take a look at them…but that is most definitely not allowed anymore. Use your imagination and think of a lot of cute, innocent 1st graders and you’ve got my class.

7 thoughts on “why do you talk like a cowgirl?

  1. Miss Beeeeeeeh-yes. :)
    I don’t think they would ever let me do speech therapy out there then.. Who would want their children to end up talking like cowgirls!? hahaha

  2. OH Abby!! How exciting that you have loved your first school teaching experience. The rest of your “schooling” will fly by!!! Remember Miss Beetle on Little House on the Prarie? and how much the children adored her?- that is the school I am thinking of when I think of the West!!! Don’t loose that accent!!! My sister lives in South Jordan and moved there because of the great schools. Can’t wait for the next chapter!

  3. Oh, Abby!!! I KNEW you would love being a teacher. I have always told you it is the most rewarding job anyone could have. You are surely wonderful at it!! I don’t blame that little Chinese girl for holding your hand all the way to recess. You sound so happy. That makes me happy, too!!!

  4. Sounds like a great, first week! I love Laura’s accent on the Beeee..yes! I can just hear her saying it! I know the children love you and Becca! Have a fun 2nd week! Love you! Mom

    • ABBY, SOUNDS LIKE YOU ARE REALLY ENJOYING YOUR CLASS AND I ALWAYS
      ENJOY READING YOUR COMMENTS AND ALSO SEEING YOUR PICTURES.
      I HAVE TOLD A LOT OF MY FRIENDS ABOUT THE LITTLE GIRL’S COMMENT
      AND THEY THOUGHT IT WAS SO SWEET, AS YOU ARE. I AM LOOKING
      FOWARD TO YOU & CARTER GETTING HOME IN A FEW DAY.
      LOVE YOU SO MUCH.

  5. Abby! You will be a WONDERFUL teacher! Great post! I can just see you baking goodies for the children and laughing with them all day long. What a wonderful blessing to those 1st graders to be able to meet such a KEWL GIRL!

Leave a Reply

