my favorite honey

spaghetti has always been my favorite food ever since i can remember…and i am quite famous for getting it on my shirt, dress, pants, you name it every single time i eat it. growing up, kyle never liked spaghetti-so whenever he was gone for dinner we could have spaghetti. i can hear my mom right now “don’t you think you should change your shirt before we eat?” its just that good. Since I have been in college it has become some what of a tradition for Mom to have spaghetti hot and ready for me when I get home to Alabama. She never fails, no matter what time I get home, she always has it ready for me. I don’t think she knows just how much I look forward to finally having some of my momma’s cooking-because nothing is just like it, no matter how hard anyone tries.

Well I tried my hardest today to get close to my mom’s spaghetti, and I have to admit I think I got pretty darn close! I made meatballs for the first time today-and I have to say I was looking forward to coming home and making spaghetti the whole time I was in my educational psychology class this morning. I did a lot of daydreaming about this spaghetti.

Spaghetti Sauce:

1 onion, chopped,.

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/4 cup olive oil

1 (28 oz) can whole peeled tomatoes

1 (28 oz) can diced peeled tomatoes

1 (14.5 os) can diced peeled tomatoes

1 (14.5 oz) can tomato sauce

1 (6 oz) can tomato paste

italian seasoning (mine’s from costco)

dash of salt

dash of sugar

1-2 cups of water (if too thick add this)

Heat the oil in the pan. Add the onions and cook until translucent. Add the garlic and cook for about a minute or two more. Add 2 28 oz cans, the smaller diced tomatoes and the paste to the onions and garlic. Sprinkle about 2 tablespoons of the italian seasoning, sugar, and salt on top and stir in. Simmer for about an hour.  After an hour, add the paste and the water (if needed). Sprinkle some more italian seasoning. This is also where you add the meatballs (recipe below).

Meatballs:

1 pound ground beef

1 cup fresh bread crumbs

1 egg

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

pepper

italian seasoning

Mix all of the ingredients together well and form into balls. Place onto a greased pan lined with tin foil. Bake for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Place your cooked meatballs in the sauce when you add the paste!

* The recipe said to add the meatballs in raw to the sauce and let cook for about 30 minutes. I don’t like how it makes the sauce greasy so I precooked them in the oven instead!

One thought on “my favorite honey

Leave a Reply

