a little taste of home

(oh how i miss you)

Me and Rebecca each take two days of the week to cook dinner for each other. I absolutely love it. Because of this wonderful tradition, I have been able to expand my recipe book which is always a plus in my book.

On Monday night, I made salmon patties. Where have they been all my life??? Well, I used to not even touch fish, so I guess that’s where they’ve been…far, far away.  Goodness my mind has drastically changed about fish- they were deeeelicious! Don’t worry I’ll post the recipe and pictures down at the bottom :  ). When I was talking to Mom on Sunday night, I asked her what I should make for dinner….she thought for a while and said salmon patties! She then went on to tell me that Nana cooked salmon patties and canned spinach (yuck-sounds slimy) every Monday night for dinner. Mom said that the only thing that she knows of that Papa does not like is that yummy canned spinach. You see, Nana and Papa live on a railroad and when there was a train wreck once a lot of canned spinach was spilled out of train—hence they had canned spinach every Monday night! Thanks for the idea Momma. They were sooo good.

Another plus to this meal was the rice and tomatoes…it hit home. It has to be one of my favorite things, ever. So southern and so good.

no, I didn’t have canned spinach…but i did have some green beans straight out of the can, just the way I like them.

…For the salmon patties…(for 2)

1 egg, beaten

2 packages of salmon (in the pouch)

7-8 saltine crackers, crushed fine

2-3 tablespoons of chopped green onions

salt and pepper (black peppa, honey)

Mix all the ingredients together well. I used a fork and made sure the salmon incorporated everywhere. Heat some vegetable oil (you don’t need much) in your pan and fry those babies.

(it might be a sin if you don’t have rice and tomatoes with it, just sayin’)

One thought on “a little taste of home

Leave a Reply

